.07 amp drain nothing switched on

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by SC 05 OUT, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    6,266
    Location:
    doncaster
    reading all "my battery is knackerd" posts lately,

    I thought I'd just look at my battery drain rate, with no power on, 12 volt main switch off, radio off, alarm not on, Ive got a .07amp drain is this normal? my batterys are four years old if that amkes any differance?
     
  2. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    Depends how it is wired. Could be an alarm (will draw even if not set), or the panel itself. Could be a dodgy meter.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    6,266
    Location:
    doncaster
    edit to o/p its 0.7 not .07amps
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I guess this is the leisure battery/s ?

    0.7A is a hell of a lot. If constant will destroy a battery in a week.

    12 x .7 = 8 watts.

    So what is eating 8 watts.

    How did you measure this ? Did you remove one battery post or pull the battery fuse and slot in your meter ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    In any case, if you want to leave the battery for any length of time, you need either a solar panel or to disconnect the battery, as there's always something sneaking some current. I use a quick disconnect battery post on mine, although I've got solar as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    Measuring at the battery is best.
    Pull the leisure battery fuse and see if you still have the discharge. If so its something wired to bypass your fuse box / control panel.
    Otherwise put the leisure battery fuse back and pull all the other fuses. Replacing them one at a time should give the information required.

    Good luck
    Gordon
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    6,417
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    Can you reset your control panel by holding one of the switches down (?) for so many seconds. It does this on mine and I can reset it to zero.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    6,266
    Location:
    doncaster
    I just read it of off the pannel, turned of the main 12v switch, waited for the pannel light to go out, then read it, how would you read it off the battery?

    take of one terminal and put the meter between post and coupling?
     
  9. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    my scout is the same, but a .4 amp drain. never causes a problem because i have a couple of solar panels on the roof. i did hear something about the rear view camera causing the draw but never tested it myself. also my dashboard cd player is wired to the leisure batteries so it might be that as well? all the best sean
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. steviebouy

    steviebouy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Pucklechurch, Bristol
    I'm pretty sure on our Dethleffs the auto frost drain on the heating circuit remains live when the 12v is off for obvious reasons. There is a way of shutting down more completely, I guess this is what Nirvanauk was alluding to.
     
  11. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,199
    Likes Received:
    9,579
    Location:
    Dorset
    the suggestion of pulling the fuses for circuits from the battery, then putting back in one at a time and checking for the drain is the simplest way to isolate the problem. I was going to suggest it but someone else got there first:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. bigfoot

    bigfoot Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    5,034
    Location:
    Wirral CH42 8PH
    On my Scout it was the radio memory draining the battery.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Yes as long as you are happy doing that and it's not going to wreck any settings in an alarm or radio.

    There is another way, right next to our battery is the main protection fuse, I could pull that out ( same caution above applies ) and you can measure inside the fuse holder with a bit of fiddling, that means no spanner work.

    That is the only way to get sure reading.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    A few points

    1) The alarm may not be armed but even quiescent it does draw something as its receiver is standing by waiting for the signal to turn on

    2) Yep, some radios really draw a fair few milliamps on standby

    3) But neither of those should be drawing over half an amp or even close

    Can you clarify which battery(s) you are talking about .. Habitation or van ?
     
  15. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    its my leisure batts that the draw is coming from. which way do you set the multimeter to test the draw? i can easily remove the fuse at the batteries and bridge this with my meter.
    got me interested now! could it be that the panel isnt properly calibrated?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  16. cmcardle75

    cmcardle75 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Reading
    Assuming you have a typical digital multimeter with a 10A DC range:

    Remove the main fuse (having checked there is no other connection that bypasses it).
    Have one lead in COM and the other in the 10A DC terminal.
    Select 10A DC on the dial.
    Touch both sides of the fuse holder.
    If there is a big spark, withdraw quickly. If you do it quickly enough, you might save the multimeter.

    Be very careful. In this range there is a dead short between the leads. If you touch 12V and an earth in this range, there will be a big spark, the leads will melt, the multimeter will explode and there may be a fire.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. capinpugwash

    capinpugwash Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    630
    Location:
    Hampshire
    If this is the leisure battery it may be more than one thing.

    I believe that the frost cut off/drain switch for the water heater constantly draws a small current, so this may be part of the problem as it draws it even though the 12v panel is off.
     
  18. SC 05 OUT

    SC 05 OUT Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    6,266
    Location:
    doncaster

    I think its the hab side l(2 X 85amphour) the van battery is only put into use when switched on, on the pannel. This swich is off so the drain is on the hab batteries?
     
  19. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if, after following CMCARDLES advise, the meter reads less than 2 amps then disconnect and switch to the 2amp range (if the meter has 2amp range) then reconnect.

    This will show a more accurate reading to maybe a couple of decimal points.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    back in 10 minutes (hopefully) i'm going to give it a go. i like sparks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page