Free Member
Feb 16, 2013
Lampeter
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've just changed my gas bottle (propane) on my mh. Everything was working fine before. Now enough gas comes through to ignite the gas hob but then it goes out. No luck lighting the oven. I've disconnected the bottle and tried it on our gas BBQ and it works fine. Any ideas?:Eeek:

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
Greetings,

I apologise in advance if I am suggesting something that is so obvious.

We have just changed from tugging to motorhoming and, like you I tried to get the gas to work and couldn't.
It was at this point that I noticed that the Reg is different to the one we had in the caravan. It requires that you push a knob/button for five secs. to get the gas flow going. I note that you have a German 'van as do we. Just a thought.

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
If the regulator is a different one on the M/home to the bar-b-q.. I would try changing regulators first.. :thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
Have you checked the "new" bottle is full and you have'nt been given an almost empty one ..... otherwise I agree with the others that it must be the regulator.

Nov 6, 2008
Ramsey, Isle of Man.
Funster No
MH
Coachmen Concord 300TS
Exp
8 years with an RV
Don't know if this will work, but if i change the bottles on my 5er, and open the valve quickly, not enough gas comes through, and works as you describe. If i open the valve very slowly, no problems. Could be worth a try.

Craig

OP
OP
D

Dai Howells

Free Member
Feb 16, 2013
Lampeter
Funster No
MH
Coachbuild
Exp
I'm a newbie
Could there be a blockage or condensation in the regulator/pipe? If so, is there any option other than to call an 'expert' out?