Free Member
Apr 10, 2014
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Hi!

I have been investigating the power systems in my MH.

I am new to the van, but from what I can tell, having read the blurb, the 'car' battery is wired to the leisure battery via a switch so the leisure battery will be charged whilst driving so long as the 'car' battery is full. The solar panel goes directly to the leisure battery and keeps it topped up so long as it is sunny. What happens if it is sunny while I am driving is anyone s guess! lol

I can also flick a switch on the control panel to chose which of the two is charged up when I am plugged in to a power supply.

Just thinking that a lot of my camping is likely to be off the beaten track. So I will rely heavily on the solar panels to keep the battery topped up.

I know nothing about my solar panel, I can find no documentation for it in the blurb that came with the van. Is there any way of finding out what it is rated at?

If I add a second leisure battery can I add a second trip switch so that when the first one is full the second one will start getting charge? Would it be an issue having three batteries in a row with two switches like that?

Or should I just put the two leisure batteries in parallel? Would they both then charge in the same way just as though they were one big battery?

Thanks for any help :)

Jul 29, 2011
Urmston, Manchester
Funster No
MH
Former owner.
Exp
June 2012
There are much more experienced people who will answer this question but as i understand putting an extra battery (or 2) in parallel will result in all of them being charged one after each other.
What you need to know is the solar panel size and if it's up to the job.

But i may be totally wrong, i will be organising soon to go to Dave Newell and have a solar panel fitted and hope Dave can explain simply how my system works, there seems to be wires around the engine battery that i dont know where they come from.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset