Fixing awning / draught skirt rails to MH (1 Viewer)

Danceswithwolves

Free Member
Apr 8, 2014
Barnsley
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
Im a newbie
Don't know if this has previously been covered ( I suspect it probably has )
I needed to fix awning & draught skirt rails to our new MH .
After hours of thinking about it & researching various products ( & prices )
I decided to go with the slimline anodised aluminium type rails with no screw holes.
I didn't want to be drilling holes and putting screws into the side panels to attach it & wasn't too keen on the colour of the aluminium when everything else on the side of the MH is white or black.
I measured out & cut the lengths needed then chamfered and rounded the leading ends with a disc sander.
I then spray painted them white using radiator paint which is non yellowing & very tough .
I marked the position of the rails onto the MH with small pencil marks making sure the area where the rails were to be fitted was very clean .
I then bonded the rails to the MH using HA6 rtv marine sealant / adhesive by Bond It . using a sealant gun, run a good bead of adhesive down the full length of the rail & carefully postion on the MH guided by the small pencil marks, then hold in position for a couple of minutes until the adhesive grabs. I then carefully run a thin bead top and bottom and smoothed it down with my finger tip.
End result is a superb neat & tidy job that blends in really well.
Leave to set for at least 12 hours before fitting anything to the rails.
The bond is really firm & no screw holes in your pride and joy :thumb:

OP
OP
Danceswithwolves

Danceswithwolves

Free Member
Apr 8, 2014
Barnsley
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
Im a newbie
Sorry , Im a newbie - How do you post pics :Confused:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid