Free Member
Jan 26, 2014
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have a 1995 Granduca and would like to find out more about the electrics and charging system. I am new to motorhomes and don’t have a handbook. I have attached photos of the control panel and control unit for reference. Hopefully these may be similar to other types used.

Question 1. Does anyone know what the second red switch from the left is supposed to work? It has a symbol a bit like a fan and wires are connected.

Question 2. The black rocker switch above the 220v indicator light also doesn’t seem to do anything. (You have to hold it down). Any ideas as to function?

Question 3. When mains is hooked up, should both the leisure and starter batteries be charging? The battery condition lights don’t come on, but they are reasonably charged. The 12v on and water pump on lights work, (when switched) but the bottom left indicator which looks like a battery with a plug and lead doesn’t illuminate.

Question 4. I understand that when batteries are being charged from the alternator, the voltage across the battery is normally 13/14 volts. Should this also be the case when charging from the mains? Mine read just under 12v with the mains hooked up.

I have checked all the fuses that I can readily see. If you disconnect either of the batteries with the mains hooked up, the lowest relay on the control unit clicks continuously.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Cont_zpscea04dce.jpg

Conta_zpsd835c78e.jpg

Unit1_zps1dd9adbe.jpg

tonester3224

Free Member
Aug 5, 2014
Funster No
MH
Rotterteam Granduca N52
Exp
Motorhoming as a child with parents, now motorhoming myself
Hi Mackers, I'm afraid that I cannot answer your question, but I have exactly the same question myself as I am just about to pick up my camper which has the same panel.