Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
I'm a newbie
When you travel a lot in Europe how do you manage your money? I am thinking of getting a travel card from the Post Office and topping it up online when required.

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
When you travel a lot in Europe how do you manage your money? I am thinking of getting a travel card from the Post Office and topping it up online when required.

Good idea , but there are better cards about, google euro cash cards:thumb:

Brisey

Deceased RIP
Sep 4, 2007
Sutton on Sea
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2003
We use a Caxton Card. It has worked well for us in France, Italy, Belgium and Spain.:thumb:

Brisey.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
I've only ever used my bank debit card abroad for buying stuff and lifting cash..

what's the benefit(s) of a third party card like Caxton ?

Soozywoozy

Free Member
Feb 18, 2014
Oxfordshire - edge of the cotswolds
Funster No
MH
Hymer B 704SL
Exp
2014, 2 motorhomes
Caxton here also and has much better exchange rates than the high street ones.
Word of caution, all of them will 9/10 be problematic/ rejected at automated fuel stations in Europe and sometimes tolls, so have a back up plan of cash or decent credit card

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
We use Mytravelcash not the best conversion rate but you get cash back and no charges at all, but you can take your pick , not much in them really apart from the post office who always have the worst rates, but you don't have to carry cash on you or even your credit or debit card, if you lose your cash card you only stand to lose what you have on it , no one can get into your bank from it, and as you can top them up through web or phone , you never need have more than a couple of hundred on them:thumb:

cruiser

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 12, 2012
northampton