Free Member
Oct 13, 2013
tyne and wear
Funster No
MH
selfbuild
Exp
just a quickie
just wondering why 3mm plywood is used for ceiling and wall panels apposed to 3mm hardboard

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Probably because plywood is stronger than hardboard! :Smile:

jhorsf

Free Member
May 15, 2009
DERBYSHIRE
Funster No
MH
ih oregon
Exp
I would imagine hardboard would sag between fixings

No doubt Terry will be along in a minute with a pro's answer

but do not be surprised if he says "cause hardboard is sh1te"

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

TheDentons

Free Member
Aug 7, 2013
South Wales
Funster No
MH
swift kontiki
Exp
I'm a newbie bought our first motorhome 7months ago and love it
Plywood is more stable less prone to sag due to opposing grain in the board

OP
OP
L

lee52

Free Member
Oct 13, 2013
tyne and wear
Funster No
MH
selfbuild
Exp
am using ply anyways was just wondering thats all. Didnt think about the sagging knew it wasnt as strong screwing things to it etc...

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
hardboard is made from wood pulp so no grain and takes up moisture and swells. plywood is thin opposing layers of wood with a natural grain bonded usually with water resistant glue.
ply has a greater structural strength too

camocam1

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Elgin,Moray,Scotland
Funster No
MH
bailey approach 760 se
Exp
since 2012
Manufacturers may also use flexi ply on curved areas such us the Luton roof

treetops1

Free Member
Feb 25, 2013
yorkshire/ lincolnshire.
Funster No
MH
Sold last van-
Exp
a long time,since 1996
Most caravan manufacturers used to soak all hardboard so when fitting would dry flat and tight .Not sure they still do but it certainly worked.

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH