Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
I just got ready for an oil and filter change on my 2008 Boxer when I found that my previous Peugeot sump plug tool did not work , it was too small. I have tried all the tools I have without success so the ten mile run to warm up the oil was wasted.
Does anyone know the type of tool needed , is it square or maybe a hex type?

OP
OP
barrywi

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I have just had a further grovel underneath with a torch and as you say it is a Hex type hole. Just going for a trawl on EBay to find one. My previous search found suggestions for square types which is just wrong.
Ta for your help.:Smile:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
barrywi

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
My van is a 2008 3 litre Peugeot( the same as a Fiat) 160 bhp engine so it should be the same. I just got a 12 mm Hex to socket adapter from EBay for about £9 so will report if I have any more problems.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
massively expensive tool to remove the sump plug. a whopping £3.51:ROFLMAO:
Broken Link Removed

Moodybrook

Free Member
Jul 7, 2013
Wet and cold place outside of M25
Funster No
MH
4 wheels and a pointy end
Exp
still in nappies
Just had my pug serviced and an addition to the bill, " Replace oil drain plug ".

On enquiring, I was met with the reply that "Sump plug recommended to be replaced at each and every oil change "

Never heard of that one but as they were very economical with the rest of the job I let it slide. Have you lads heard of this ? :Smile:

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid