Free Member
Feb 15, 2014
France
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet
Exp
I am a newbie
Does anyone have a suggestion for general internet access throughout Europe other than at camp sites with WiFi? Would you recommend a satellite system (expensive!!!) or some other method (a dongle or whatever)?

I use an internet connection a lot while stationary for things like Netflix, etc. I am looking for something for when I hit the road soon. I am new to "full timing" and I would like to be free of camp sites occasionally.

Addie

Trader - Motorhome Wifi
Oct 15, 2011
York
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I would suggest our Link Removed, but then I saw something which set alarm bells ringing...

Netflix

The difficulty here is (out of country IP issues aside) streaming video takes a LOT of data, maybe upto 500Mb/hour if watching in HD. So while a 500Mb daily allowance with the EuropaSIM is considered generous and could easily last all day if managed properly, you could use it in an hour - assuming of course that the 3G reception was fast enough to stream.

Satellite internet is likely to have the same restrictions for data - 10Gb/Month is one of the better packages for European use priced at £30/mth, but you have to pay circa £3500 for the equipment its a non-starter for most.

In the UK there is only one tariff which would support this usage, the Three Unlimited plan, but you can't use this in Europe while tethering to another device from your phone.

Your best option might be the FON network if spending much time in France?
http://maps.fon.com

Hope this helps - let me know if we can be of any more assistance.

Adam

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Addie's Euro SIM card thingy is a ridiculous price at €3 for 500 MBs full speed and unlimited after that at reduced speed.

Cripes, I am ONLY paying €1 per MB... (one euro for each megabyte) on my Portuguese Vodafone 3-4G sim card while here in Germany...