Connection problems with satellite receiver and tv (1 Viewer)

Popsickle

Free Member
Feb 28, 2014
Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
Since Feb 2014
Hi,
I am very new to motor homing, in fact have not ventured out yet other than taking delivery of my vehicle!
Am trying everything out to make sure I know how to use it all!
I have bought a multimo satellite system, complete with receiver, tuner etc and have also purchased a "cello" 16inch tv. Problem is the receiver has scart connections and the tv has HDMI I am not technically minded so big problems. The suppliers of the satellite system have very kindly provided me with a scart cable fitted with " phono" connectors at other end. I have connected all up but the tv keeps telling me there is no signal! I believe that I have found Astra as the signal appeared strong. Can someone tell me which source on the tv I should select e.g. AV, DTV etc. I am hoping to start travelling in the next week or so and would like to be able to use the television etc. I have checked that the tv works by testing it in the house and the receiver appears to work but I am unable to connect it in the house as it was only supplied with a 12 volt connection.:Sad::cry::cry:

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
if you go into source on the tv and select av or possibly component, depends on model, but flick through till you see a signal. obviously have the sat decoder plugged in, connected and turned on. it really is very simple but can be frustrating if you dont know which source to select and getting locked onto the correct satellite. there are a few close to each other which confuses many new users. you think you have it locked on only to find its all foreign or encrypted channels.

mind dont go expecting a small multimo dish to pick anything up further south than just over the channel, as the satellites have recently been moved leading to making it more uk focused for uk channels