Oct 27, 2013
Stoke on Trent
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I am a newbie
Advice please.

I am considering buying a cordless hammer/combi drill for general DIY intermittent use.
I would say my max budget is around £100 but would prefer cheaper if possible.
The choice is overwhelming can any one recommend anything please.
Just a few basic questions.
1) What is the difference between NiCD and Li-Ion batteries.
2) If I use it for a week or so then not use it for a further three weeks and come back to it to charge the batteries does this kind of use ruin the batteries. If it does then I suppose I am better off with a 240v job first as last. I am really considering the cordless so I can do the odd job on the camper which I park where there is no electric.

I like the Makita on offer in Amazon for about £108.99 but a Draper one is £66.14 are the Makita ones much better.

Thanks
JohnT

Sep 10, 2013
Chelmsford Essex
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Getting better
Buy The Makita unit they have metal gears and are a great brand of power tools ask on any site, the guys nearly always use Makita.
The li Ion battery is the one to go for,it is fast to charge holds it's charge for ages and operates at virtually 100% through the charge. Screw fix usually have offers one these units and around £100 is a good price.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
for basic diy, a mid range type drill would be most cost effective. i recomend bosch and makita but then the b&q mac allister range are excellent quality for the price

NiCD is nickle cadnium and these batteries tend to suffer from memory effect so fail quicker. cheaper but less power

LiION is lithium ion and is the newer technology with good weight to power ratio and dont suffer memory effect so give a longer life. more expensive