Is LPG a cheaper way of running a motorhome? (1 Viewer)

Kryten

Free Member
Jan 18, 2014
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie but did own one in 2003. Been into camping for many years.
Hi guys/gals,

With diesel not being cheap, I was wondering if it would be worthwhile to get an LPG tank fitted to my motorhome (when I get one, that is! :RollEyes:) to power it rather than use batteries and hookups. I'm not talking about a conversion to actually drive the motorhome, but just as a power source to run all the devices like the fridge, tv and lights etc.

Would this be a better long term idea? (I know there would be the initial cost in getting it fitted, then the cost of topping up). Or would getting solar panels fitted be a better/cheaper way? I'm guessing solar panels only charge up leisure batteries and won't sustain prolonged use of electrical devices whereas a full tank of LPG would be able to power devices for many days (or even weeks!?) at a time. Is this correct?

I'm planning on mainly wild camping rather than staying on designated camping sites and I don't want to be left out in the cold/dark! I also hope to use it all year round and in all weathers too. What sort of motorhome/devices would best suit my needs for this? Is there anything that I simply must have (or not have) or anything I should always do in order to accomplish this?

I look forward to your input and any advice is appreciated. :Smile:

Thanks!

OP
OP
Kryten

Kryten

Free Member
Jan 18, 2014
Birmingham, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I've not seen a gas run TV and gas lights went out of fashion years ago

Mike
:whatthe: You know what I mean!!

Sensible answers everyone please.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
I guess you mean LPG to power a generator then? to charge your batteries for your TV and lighting etc :roflmto: