Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
I'm a newbie
Can someone explain, in non technical language, what inverters are? Why use them and how do you use them? Any draw backs?

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
They convert 12v power to 220/240v Hammer batteries better to use 12v things where possible ::bigsmile: ie 12v telly lights etc No hairdriers or other things that use 240v especially heavy power hungry items :winky:
terry
edit forgot to say 1000 watt inverters are reasonably priced but are not usually big enough to power most 240v items and once you start looking at bigger the costs rise a lot and you need bigger battery banks to use them

Last edited:

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)
How do they harm the battery ?

Had been looking at one for phone chargers etc .

Small ones are fine but also use about 10 % more power than straight 12v -- did not say harm batts just hammer them :winky: ---see my edit
terry

Oct 1, 2013
Lanzarote
Funster No
MH
Nil by mouth
Exp
Lots
Small ones are fine but also use about 10 % more power than straight 12v -- did not say harm batts just hammer them :winky: ---see my edit
terry

Cheers :Smile:

So what rating would we need if we decided to power a laptop ?

Terry

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 27, 2007
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Can't remember ;)

A small 300w (£20)one will run/charge item fine -will also run a tv etc but better to try and use 12v every time
terry

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 3, 2008
Pakefield, Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Funster No
MH
Looking
Exp
Can someone explain, in non technical language, what inverters are? Why use them and how do you use them? Any draw backs?