Tesco's Hudl with Free and Paid For SatNav Apps - Thoughts Please. (1 Viewer)

Bridie

Free Member
Jul 26, 2010
Bonnie Dundee
Funster No
MH
Campervan
Exp
Since July 2013
Hi

I have no real experience of SatNavs other than using a Garmin hand-held GPS for Geocaching and the free Trafficmaster that came with the Citroen which was not much good outside UK, but I am fairly au fait with technology in general.

Over the past few months I've looked at many threads on SatNavs in here and I was considering either the Garmin Nuvi 54 LM with free Europe Map updates (£99) or one of the Chinese 7" SatNavs available on eBay and often discussed here (£50-£70).

However I am now seriously thinking of getting a Tesco Hudl tablet which would cost £60 in Clubcard points which is in reality free, has 7" screen, GPS chip (unlike my wife's WiFi only iPad!), 32GB Micro SD slot etc. Then thought of trying out free Android SatNav Apps of which there seems to be quite a few and then perhaps forking out for one of the paid for ones. (Would really like to be able to upload a variety of POIs.)

In doing this I would end up with SatNav AND a fairly well reviewed tablet into the (virtually free) bargain!

Any first hand experiences with Tesco Hudl?
Any first hand experiences with free Android SatNav Apps?
Any first hand experiences with paid for Android SatNav Apps?

Thanks
(NB: I've posted this on some the the other similar MH forums as well.)

Last edited:

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
We have 2!

A fantastic bit of kit for the nothing we paid!

I have Europe wide Sygic satnav on mine. It works fine in the UK, I will have a better idea of the Europe mapping when I go skiing in 5 weeks! The Sygic trial version is free and the mapping, for the whole of Europe, with lifetime updates, is about £35.

We also have a Dutch multi-country aire app and this works seamlessly with both Sygic and Google Maps.