Free Member
Apr 23, 2013
Mansfield
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
We installed the gaslow system (2 11kg Cylinders) and the gauges have never worked. i would like to know how much gas we have in the cylinders but cant find a good accurate method of checking. I looked at the Dometic pen type tester, to be honest wasnt impressed at all. Is the good old pick it up and give it a shake still the best method of checking.

Spenders

Free Member
Jan 19, 2013
Tadcaster
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2013
I share your pain....

I have a refillable system and the gauge seems to show full all the time, or I use very little gas!

Is it a big problem though? If in doubt, just fill up before you go and then you're sure you've got a full bottle! On a standard bottle you don't have a gauge so could only geusstimate from weight or feel when shaking the bottle, but you wouldn't be able to refill.

Simon

Apr 25, 2012
Near Truro, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
gaslow gauges

Hi, we have 2 x 11kg gas low bottles too and I never rely on the gauges as they seem to show nearly full for ages even during heavy use then empty but still with some in! So now as soon as one is definitely empty I make sure I fill up asap. Crude but effective!:thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 18, 2010
Bournemouth and Gibraltar
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2003
We installed the gaslow system (2 11kg Cylinders) and the gauges have never worked. i would like to know how much gas we have in the cylinders but cant find a good accurate method of checking. I looked at the Dometic pen type tester, to be honest wasnt impressed at all. Is the good old pick it up and give it a shake still the best method of checking.