Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
I'm a newbie
Are you supposed to cover the fridge vents as the outside tempetature drops?
Do you keep them covered when in use ?
Where do you buy the covers or will cardboard do?

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs

"NO"...... don't cover when using...:Eeek:

They are just for keeping the elements out during lay up period...

Try not to direct a hose on them when washing.. or use the covers, but remember to take them off before flashing up... :thumb:

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
depends on the type of covers you have. my understanding is that full covers are used as Old mo describes, but some covers are put in place to reduce the cold airflow over the fridge gear to prevent loss of efficiency.

quote from my handbook:

when the outdoor temp is below 8'c installthe thetford vent cover on the grills. the cover protects the fridge from excessively cold air. in no circumstance should they be used above 8'c,

hope this help

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough

Try not to direct a hose on them when washing.. or use the covers, but remember to take them off before flashing up... :thumb:

Does this only apply to gas operation, I have thought that when on hook up and the fridge set to electric only (not auto just in case electrics fail) I would be OK for the covers to be on

Am I wrong again! :Doh:

David

jb0371old

Free Member
Jul 8, 2011
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
1 year
we were told when the temp drops below 10c then put the fridge covers on, it does not impede air flow as there is enough holes to stop you gassing yorselves. My parents have a brand new van and they don thave covers at all.