Advice on solar power please (1 Viewer)

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
I am a newbie and am thinking of fitting a solar panel in my 2008 Adria Coral. I have been doing some research and and have come to some tentative conclusions, but would like some advice and comments please. I am aiming to DIY fit if it is easy enough.

We are not keen wild campers but we would like to have the option of occasionally spending a night or two staying on Aires and other interesting places that may not have hook ups. Our power demands are not high. I guess a couple of hours TV and a couple of hours with 2 x 10W lights on at night, having the Truma heating on overnight sometimes, and enough power to fill a kettle and and each have a shower in the morning. We can do without mains powered appliances for the couple of nights at most we will not be on hook up.

Panel size. I have guessed that we may need a 120W panel. But maybe a 100W one will do? There seems to be a step change in price between 100 and 120W. We have plenty of room on the roof so could go for either type. Any to avoid please? Is the size OK?

Regulator. We have a Schaudt EBL226 distribution board and LT500 control panel and I would like something that will work with those so as to coordinate the power sources when we are on hook up and driving. The obvious choice is the Schaudt LR1218 which plugs in to the EBL226 and can use the display on the LT500 to show me what it is doing. This is a PWM regulator rather than an MPPT one. Does that matter for my needs? I think I would rather have a bigger panel with better integration than a smaller one with a better regulator. I don't like seeing odd aftermarket fitted display panels and I don't want to have to remember to switch things on or off when I am driving or hooking up.