Free Member
Feb 5, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
I'm a newbie
I see hook up cables in 10,20 and 30 metre lengths. Whst realistically is the average lengths?

keith

Free Member
Aug 25, 2007
Ecclefechan
Funster No
MH
Autocruise Starseeker
Exp
Caravaning since 1974 - Motorhoming since 2003
Most people have 25m ones, which seem to do the job but, with maybe a shorter one to add if you are a long way from the bollard.

Upvote 0

laneside

Funster
Deceased RIP
Aug 14, 2009
Oradour sur Vayres
Funster No
MH
Rapido V66
Exp
nowhere near long enough
If you are coming over here ie Spain and Portugal about five meters longer than the one you have :thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Spenders

Free Member
Jan 19, 2013
Tadcaster
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2013
It's all in the length....

I have two cables..... a 10m and a 25m.

If I can get away with it I use the 10m one... much less hassle (especially when wet!) to roll up after use. Obviously for times when you are further from the hook up box the 25m one is used.

I think I can join them together if I really need to, but haven't even come close to needing that option yet.

Simon

Upvote 0

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
a 25m cable is normally ideal, but as mentioned carry an extra 10m in case the power socket is just beyond this. dont forget to unwind any excess cable from the coil when in use though, as leaving it coiled risks a fire. also common sense, but always route cables where they wont be driven over and damaged. have seen people ruin good cables both ways. laying out the cable to avoid these 2 potential problems will save you a lot of hassle even if it means using a longer cable than it would running it straight from socket to van.

Upvote 0

marymary

Free Member
Mar 15, 2010
mid wales/shrops border
Funster No
MH
Conversion
Exp
Returning newbie..