Free Member
Oct 24, 2013
chepstow
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
I'm a newbie
This may be a pretty stupid question BUT how many earth their generator? I have used generators on and off for many years but NOT for an MH. When using EHU you are earthed back to source but not so with a generator, is there a danger of static build up:Eeek:. The instructions say earth the genny out so earth it out it will be but who else earths theirs out?
Many thanks for any replies.
Cal

buffallobill

Free Member
Sep 21, 2013
skipton
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since2007
i do.:thumb: .....with a length of wire from earth screw on genny to a thick steel tent peg , either knocked into ground or if on hard standing put the genny on top of earthing peg..

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
if the generator isnt 'earthed' to ground there is no return earth path from the van.

number 1 safety advise to digger drivers....if you hit a cable DO NOT get off your machine as you become the earth path.

if you earth the genny you need to earth the van as well or in a fault situation you step out the van you become the earth return path.

on generator power i would sooner not have an earth.

using an earth spike requires quite detailed knowledge for it to work correctly....just banging a metal rod in the ground isnt good enough.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
if the generator isnt 'earthed' to ground there is no return earth path from the van.

number 1 safety advise to digger drivers....if you hit a cable DO NOT get off your machine as you become the earth path.

if you earth the genny you need to earth the van as well or in a fault situation you step out the van you become the earth return path.

[HI]using an earth spike requires quite detailed knowledge for it to work correctly....just banging a metal rod in the ground isnt good enough.
[/HI]