Understanding Volts and Amps and things? (1 Viewer)

Tecnikal

Free Member
Oct 16, 2013
Essex
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've had a little search through these forums and done a google search with not much luck.

Can anyone point me to a thread or webpage that explains to the complete novice about the readings that come up on the little computer pad in motorhomes.

You can click on the car sign or the motorhome sign and then click on the Battery voltage or battery current button. (V and A)
Things like:
What should Battery voltage read when full? Can you use the leisure battery till it says zero and then charge it up?
What is A and Ah or d after the number?
I've been told you have to watch these numbers and keep them at certain levels to stop you tripping out the park etc.

Those are just a few things, but basically I need to get the the whole volt and amp thing explained to me before we go off on our first motorhome trip and I blown the darn thing up. :cry:

Preferably explained in words of one syllable lol.

It all seems so daunting at first.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Brian.

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
try reading this thread. although concerning solar panels, it includes explanations of how the batteries work
Broken Link Removed

in essence its all quite simple though. a full battery will read between 13.5 and 13.8 volts if the charger is connected. you only use about half the potential power in the battery before recharging 11v is about as low as it should go as 9v and below will damage the battery

a 110a/h battery is able to give in theory 110amps for 1hr or 55amps for 2hrs etc. in reality though expect a 110a/h battery to be good for 55a/h useage.
so if your tv takes 8amps expect 6hrs continuous usage without recharging. Most modern tvs take less than 8amp though