Oct 18, 2013
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt Low Profile
Exp
I'm a real newbie
Hi all
My wife and I decided to take the plunge and buy a motorhome after our son bought a VW T4 and added a bed etc. We had always wanted a motorhome so came to the conclusion that the savings, sitting in the bank, were getting no interest at all so we spent them instead.
We bought "Puff" (as in Puff the Magic Dragon) privately from South Wales. We travelled down by train and were given the keys and a two minute introduction, on how to operate everything, in the station car park!!. We had to move quickly as we were parked in the taxi rank. So we jumped in and started a very nervous journey home.
We are still very ignorant about motorhoming but having a fantastic time finding things out.

One question: I need to clean the roof as we have to park Puff under a tree. Can I put an aluminium ladder against the side. Will the upper body shell take the strain of me and a ladder against it?

Best wishes and thanks for any helpful answers. I probably have loads more basic questions due to the very brief handover.:Smile:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
hi and welcome.

ladders...no problem but wrap some foam or cloth around them to prevent marking the sides.

the main part of the roof will also take the average adults weight.

2 minutes is a ridiculous amount of time for a handover, you need an hour or more at least, so you will have a whole bunch of questions as you go on...ask away :thumb:

btw....you only get 4 or 5 free posts then you need to subscribe but its the best £10 you'll ever spend and advise given here will save far more than a tenner in dealers repair charges.

Jul 29, 2011
Urmston, Manchester
Funster No
MH
Former owner.
Exp
June 2012
I washed mine yesterday and as Pappajohn says i put padding around the ladder. I use a long handle brush so no need to get on the roof provided you get all the marks off.