LIFE MEMBER
Feb 19, 2008
Dark Side of the Moon
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2007
Am I right in thinking that if you use BT SmartTalk and its connected to the internet via wifi and you have unlimited calls package at home then all the calls you make vis BT SmartTalk will be as if you were using yoru home telephone?
So the same should apply if you used it via FON in France?

Last edited:
Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
40 years
Am I right in thinking that if you use BT SmartTalk and its connected to the internet via wifi and you have unlimited calls package at home then all the calls you make vis BT SmartTalk will be as if you were using yoru home telephone?
So the same should apply if you used it via FON in France?
I have no knowledge of any BT packages but using wifi while abroad then Skype gives similar free or low priced calls to anywhere in the world. Does BT offer more than Skype. Interested.

lorger

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 11, 2008
Dumfries
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sun 650MEG
Exp
Not sure how it works, I think there is a BT app you can download to your smartphone and if calling the uk from abroad your only charge the same as a UK - UK call.
Not sure if this is the same thing your talking about.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DJA

Mar 5, 2011
Funster No
MH
A
Exp
Since 2008
Hi ShiftZZ

Yes is the answer.

The App works on your Smartphone and allows you to phone any UK landline, I am not sure about mobile phones, from anywhere in the world when your phone is logged onto Wifi. You will then be charged for the call via your BT bill based on the charges applicable for the call on the basis that it was made from your home phone.

If you are not logged onto Wifi it will work off 3g or 4g as well so costs will possibly be bigger depending on your mobiles Data terms wherever you are.