Sep 26, 2013
Sussex
Funster No
MH
Looking
Exp
Hi guys,

My names Sam and I'm new to this site.

I'm looking at moving away from my home in Sussex for anything from a few months to long term.
I've got my heart set on heading to Cornwall and popping back to Sussex for bits of work every now and then.

My dilemma is that I am a complete newbie to anything campervan related!
A little about what I'm after,pretty basic really but I am after something reliable and fairly cheap to run. Ideally a kitchen unit/hob&sink, bed , with some storage for a board etc.

I am going between cheap VW vans, to Bongos, to old transit and Talbot campers and more!
My budget of 4-5k max dosnt give me the widest search but I'm really struggling as to what will be value for money. I'll be fairly busy outdoors in the days, but I want some degree of comfort and ability to cook and eat at night.
Small vans strike me as small, but equally I don't want to be struggle with a big old bus of a camper down country roads and in car parks!

I'm sorry if this is a common subject, I will continue to look around for tips on here but I'm after a van soon as I need to get away!

Many thanks

Sam

Sep 16, 2013
Horncastle, UK
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2006
Hi Sam, are you intending on living in the van?

When you say board I assume you mean a surf board? What area of Cornwall are you looking to stay in? (makes a difference on which van may be better as parts of Cornwall have more height restriction)

Welcome to the forum ::bigsmile:

Upvote 0

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
Hi and welcome to the "Funsters"...

Personally I would look for an up together small coach built M/Home, rather than a fliptop or elevating roof...

They can get pretty cold and not the easiest to warm up in the winter...

Or even a van type conversion..