Deceased RIP
Sep 14, 2013
Lancaster
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Was a newbie, now a Middie.
As a young soldier, I sometimes had to drive The Regiments Morris Commercial 1 ton water tanker. Even though it was fitted with baffles, the rule was either drive it full, or empty. Part loads were not recommended!
And so. My (new to me) Hymer is fitted with a 100 ltr water tank.
1. Do you drop the water out before leaving a site?
2. Is it best just to carry enough water for a brew?
3. Can you drive with it full?
4. Am I just being daft, and it dosent matter what you do.
5. Will be fitting a water filter, probably an in line version. Any recommendations?/
6. With our narrowboat, we found that as we changed areas, and took on more water, we sometimes got this 'taste', different water plants adding different amounts of chemicals to suit their areas, inducing a cup of tea to taste like public swimming baths water. Does that still happen???
Thanks peeps. Your help on these matters is worth a lot to me.
Dave.

jb0371old

Free Member
Jul 8, 2011
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
1 year
it all depends on how your going to live in your mh. If you are going to drive to a campsite and then saty for a week and then drive home i would drive empty purely for the weight reduction and save diesel. If your going to wild camp a lot then fill up at evry opportunity. The water tank is generally low down so you dont really have to worry about the centre of gravity, and its only 100 litre I amfairly sure your diesel tank is prob similiar. Hope this helps

Upvote 0

maz

Jan 26, 2011
Bizeljsko, Slovenia
Funster No
MH
N+B Arto
Exp
Since March 2011
5. Will be fitting a water filter, probably an in line version. Any recommendations?/