Replacing Carver Cascade Rapide with Henry water heater (1 Viewer)

barrywi

Free Member
Sep 25, 2012
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I am a Newbie to motorhomes but have caravaned for years
My Carver Cascade Rapide has a small leak between the tank and burner dripping onto the van floor and will not work on gas. To save messing about fitting parts and then finding other problems( unit is on a 1998 Autotrail) I have decided to buy a Henry direct replacement so that everything is new. Has anyone done this job or can give me reasons not to go down this route? The only thing I can find out that may be a problem is that the Henry cable between the control unit and the main unit is only 3 metres which is not long enough. The pipes are push fit that can be re used. I will then sell the old heater for parts or repair.

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
Yes, a couple of times now and it couldn't be easier. Henry is actually a chinese copy of the Cascade so is a very easy direct replacement. you do have to replace the wiring harness and control panel as the instructions say that the Henry unit is not compatible with the Cascade control panel and vice versa (sp?) but this is not generally that difficult. Figure on a couple of hours to sort it but do replace the gas connection nut and olive as the thread is very slightly different old to new.

D.

xjrchris

Free Member
Apr 17, 2012
bath
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
1 year
Had mine done ,and they used the same wiring loom, you need to use the henry control panel and split the wires on the carver loom to fit the new heater , only took about 1 hour , hope this helps,chris

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

paulmold

Free Member
Jun 15, 2009
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
7 year (25yrs a tugger)