Drive away Awnings (1 Viewer)

May 13, 2012
West Mids
Funster No
MH
Bailey Advance 6-2
Exp
since 2012
We are looking to buy a drive away awning in the next week,plenty on fleabay but thought I'd ask if any body has any suggestions ?

Im still new to motor homing so forgive me if this is a stupid question....

I get the drive away part but how do you arrive so that the awning is snuggled against the MH?

Armytwowheels

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
Carthago S Plus - Iveco
Exp
Since 2011
Very impressed with our new awning, a Kyham Motordome Excelsior. Colin can pitch it and bring it down by himself while I doing other things, namely getting the wine open!!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Armytwowheels

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
Carthago S Plus - Iveco
Exp
Since 2011
Im still new to motor homing so forgive me if this is a stupid question....

I get the drive away part but how do you arrive so that the awning is snuggled against the MH?

Simples, put a couple of tent pegs in the ground close up to the front tyres at the side, when you drive or reverse back on to the pitch and you are back level with the pegs, your awning should attach again.

Mar 22, 2011
NE Wales
Funster No
MH
Chausson Best of 10
Exp
Since Feb 2013….2nd Van
The Kyham range is probably one of the best makes. They really can be put up by one person, in a short space of time. But they aren't cheap. Here's a vid of someone putting up a campervan version:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TbXT2N1l9c"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TbXT2N1l9c[/ame]

bobandjanie

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 28, 2008
Javea, Spain
Funster No
MH
Pilote V600g
Exp
We have the Khyam screenhouse ( http://www.khyam.co.uk/detail.asp?p=342 ) that has surprised us at times, its been up it some really bad weather, as many have seen when we used it as our marshalls tent, great bit of kit and so quick and easy to put up. :thumb: Bob.