May 22, 2013
Bolton
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
im a newbie
Hi,

we are very new to motorhomes and this site is helping me get to grips with it all.
last weekend we did a visit to a local place and fell for a C.I Cusona 656.
it was just under 30k but im not sure my budget will stretch to that maybe 25k.
anyway if anyone has owned or owns one of these can you let me know your experience.
we have a son (he lives at home) and two daughters and 4 grandkids so in a combination we can fill this no problem.
ive been searching the web and there are loads for sale all with differing years and costs.

what sort of mileage would i get out of this model.

one little question im concerned about is sideways seats, are they legal/safe to travel in?
a lot of MH's have these with high birth but dont seem to have belts so how can that work?

you can tell im new ::bigsmile:

haganap

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2007
planet earth
Funster No
MH
Carthago C Tourer
Exp
I'm an oldbie MH number 9
Hi
we owned a 656 as our first van when we our kids were young. If you look back through my Blog to the very beginning, you will see a report I done and had published in MMM.

in short,

Good sturdy, watch for damp through poorly sealed roof,

make sure you get a minimum of a 2.3 version the 2-0 is underpowered.

you should not have a problem getting a decent one for under £25k. They are a budget van and were not much more than 30k new. :Cool:

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
Never owned a CI, but they seem to be popular vans for the budget.

as for inward facing seats, they are ok to use in transit for adults but nowhere near safe in a collision. kids under I believe its 14 need to be in a seatbelted seat before any adult and obviously little ones need to be in a proper car seat or if bigger with a booster seat

its an age old argument that manufacturers build a 6 birth but only 4 seatbelts