Feb 20, 2013
Gower
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all I need some advice .
I purchased my first motorhome yesterday and want to carry a motorbike in the garage . The garage will take the weight and I will be able to get the bike in . However the back of the bike sticks out about 7inches . Is there any law about a load sticking out the side . Otherwise i will have to change the bike for a shorter one

163phil

Free Member
Dec 4, 2012
Kenilworth
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
Still only a year after many years camping
I don't know about the law, but I would say you'll be looking at a new bike:winky:

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
depends really on the wide it takes there are width rules, 2.55m
but do you really want to have a bike stuck out its asking for trouble.
how will you close the garage door?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Philiphall

Free Member
Dec 28, 2012
Department 87, Haute Vienne, France
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
A few years now had a break but back with a MH now
I think traffic police would class it as an unsafe load also it would be illegal if it overhung the pavement - as dangerous to pedestrians etc

Ed Excel

Free Member
Nov 27, 2012
Ribble Valley
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
Started 2007
Max width in the UK, for any vehicle, is 2.55m. You say the garage will take the load of a bike but have you checked the back axle is capable also. If your MH is a product of a manufacturer there should be a plate, somewhere on the vehicle with the max weights for each axle.

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp
Still learning since 2010
Get a shorter bike or a trailer.
It's possible you will be legal but you will be a prime target for a pull by the law, and as vwalan says, how will you close the door ?