Free Member
Jun 21, 2009
Channel Islands
Funster No
MH
Coach built Autocruise
Exp
6 + 20 caravaning
We camp all the year round and find that it is very cold around the driver and passengers' seats, especially in this arctic weather. At night we tuck our coats around the base of the seats and this seems to help, but we wonder if there is some insulation missing, has any other Autocruise owner experienced this, if so do you have a solution or any ideas?
2008 Autocruise Startrail on a Boxer
Any help appreciated -Thanks

May 23, 2008
Near Durham City
Funster No
MH
Carthago
Exp
Since 1984
We have had three Autocruise motorhomes and found the cab area no colder than all the other Peugeot, fiat and Citroen conversions. You could fit extra insulation to the bulkhead and under the cab floor. I found this did help a lot. There isn't much else you can do other than fit a thermal curtain between cab and living area for the winter.
I have a Renault Master conversion now and the cab area is much better insulated than all my previous vans.

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp
Still learning since 2010
Our Auto-Trail is the same.
We were out last week and the heating couldn't keep up with the cold coming from the front area (cab). We had the external screen cover on, which covers the screen and goes part way down the bonnet, and all of the cab vents closed with the airflow set to recirculate.
Eventually I made a curtain out of some throws we have for the seats, which went behind the driver/passenger seats.
It made a big difference, but meant we lost the use of two seats and the drop down tv.
It would seem that the manufacturers make a big deal of insulating the hab area, but do nothing about the base vehicle cab area.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp