Free Member
Oct 5, 2012
Derby
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thinking of touring the Hebrides in March with the boss and two dogs. Anyone got any experience of such a holiday - where to go, where to stay or not stay, where to eat, what to take advice etc? Should I take 2 gas cylinders? First big adventure of the year, having only been away in our van for 2 weeks in the rain so far, so very keen to get it right ... Any assistance would be welcome..
:helpsos:

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
I went there once about 20 years ago. If I remember right the ferry left Oban too Benbecula. There is two islands and from what I can remember it was desolate. Tumble-weed blowing about like some old western film. If you are a twitcher they tell me its a great place for bird watching though. There was one pub come grocery shop with little else. No good if your the argumentative type as barred from the pub there is little else to do. I suppose it wouldn't do for all of us to like the same but good luck anyway. Oh, don't forget your wet weather gear :Smile:.

Jan 9, 2013
Newbury
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2000
Sooo envious - we toured Skye, Harris & Lewis in May 2012 - it was awesome!

Starting point would be to look at the Caledonian MacBrayne website for Hopscotch options - we did Hopscotch 13. It's a great way to stay flexible - you only have to book the first crossing, and confirm the next legs on a phone call.

Wild camping is accepted, so we used a combination of conventional sites, and wild spots. We didn't take any extra gas - but I guess it depends on how much you get through. We loved Skye, and spent 4 days there en route to ferry crossing to Harris. Will send you the draft itinerary from which we worked - let me know if you need further information, as I could go on for ever about this lovely part of the world.