Which Vehicle Is Best?! too many to choose! (1 Viewer)

charlotte2013

Free Member
Jan 29, 2013
devon
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Exp
im a newbie
Hi

My boyfriend and I are going to start our travels around europe this april and am looking for a van to take us on our adventure.
I want something smallish...transit, transporter, vw autosleeper etc however just need some advice on whats good and whats not.
i will be going for 6-12months and want to spend £2000-£3000. Ive browsed ebay/auto trader alot and looked at all of them but what i really need is a little help from the people who know best.

Thank you!

Charlotte

jonandshell

Free Member
Dec 12, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Not got one!
Exp
Since 2006
Welcome to MHF Charlotte!:welcomefunster:

You're on a bit of a tight budget there. It might well be worth dismissing anything with a VW badge on for that very reason.
There are quite a few campers on the market at that price point but be prepared for lots of work.
Although not as cool as a campervan, might I suggest you take some of your campsite budget and put it towards a more expensive coachbuilt motorhome.
The extra facilites onboard a coachbuilt van will allow you to use the excellent network of stopovers in europe, saving a fortune on campsites.
Hope this helps.:thumb:

-Jon

D

DM14742

Deleted User
Autosleeper & Holdsworth built some cracking Campers on the Talbot Express Van, & think you could pick up a decent example from the mid to late 80's on Ebay.
One word of caution though, your budget definately puts your search into this age of vehicle & I would take someone along who knows what to look for. It needs to have a good service history & MOT with any advisory notices shown to you. Bodywork panels can be repaired but structural corrosion is another matter & can easily be covered over for sale. Your atitude should be buyer beware!!!