1st Timer - Touring Continent (1 Viewer)

Alkaz

Free Member
Dec 31, 2012
Tyne and Wear
Funster No
MH
Don't Own One
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi,
Will be hiring a Motorhome in July 2013 and this will be my first time travelling in a Motorhome. I live in North East and my initial thoughts were to ferry from Hull to Belgium. Head to Luxemborg, Germany, Switzerland then in to France to head back home. I'll be away for 2 weeks. Am I being too ambitious??? Any tips/advice would be greatly appreciated.
regards
Alkaz

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
have you actually measured the mileage. Thats at least 1500 miles round trip to Rotterdam. that will entail driving several hours a day most days, not much chance of actually seeing anything or exploring. You could easily spend 2 weeks meandering down through the Netherlands to Germany then along the mosel valley popping into Luxembourg from the north come out south into France and Visit Metz, then Lille, Dunkirk and back through Belgium. Quite far enough for a 2 week trip. Don't rush you are on holiday. Visiting Germany you will need a sticker for the window stating your emmissions before you enter an umwelt zone or you will get fined. Switzerland is very expencive to travel through I believe you will need a go box.

From 1 January 2008 a total of 33 German cities will require all motorists to purchase a "Pollution Badge" in the form of a windscreen sticker in order to enter city centre ?Umwelt Zones? (green zones).

The participating cities are: Augsburg, Berlin, Braunschweig, K?ln (Cologne), Darmstadt, Dresden, D?sseldorf, Essen, Frankfurt am Main, Hannover, Heidelberg, Islfeld, Karlsruhe, Kassel, Leipzig, Leonburg, Ludwigsburg, Madgeburg, Mannheim, M?hlacker, M?nchen (Munich), Neu-Ulm, N?rnberg (Nuremberg), Pforzheim, Pleidelsheim, Regensburg, Reutlingen, Ruhr Area, Schw?bish-Gmund, Stuttgart, T?bingen and Ulm.