Google Maps on mobile handset (1 Viewer)

Dai

Free Member
May 14, 2008
West Wales
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2000
Hi, can anyone help on what mobile handset would allow me to access google maps on the go.

I drive for a living and when the company directs me to pick up 25 tonne of "whatever" from so and so, I would like to be able to go online with the mobile and look at the street view in google as more than often the postcode is not specific. I think this would save me some time on the job, so to speak.

I know the new Samsung or Iphone comes with all the bells and whistles and completes these functions excellently. It was demonstrated in my local "three" shop in Carmarthen yesterday.

I don't want to pay the hefty network contract prices with the new smartphones.

I am looking for a dated smartphone that I can put either my tesco simm only into the phone. (It comes with some data allowance)

Or I can put a giff gaff simm in with unlimited data on a pay as you go basis( i think )

So funsters what handset with a decent screensize I can possibly buy cheaply off ebay (unlocked) would allow me to do this. I realise there is a fine line between performance of the handsets software in relation to the speed to access google maps.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Dai

Aug 27, 2009
Hertfordshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
40 years
Hi, can anyone help on what mobile handset would allow me to access google maps on the go.

I drive for a living and when the company directs me to pick up 25 tonne of "whatever" from so and so, I would like to be able to go online with the mobile and look at the street view in google as more than often the postcode is not specific. I think this would save me some time on the job, so to speak.

I know the new Samsung or Iphone comes with all the bells and whistles and completes these functions excellently. It was demonstrated in my local "three" shop in Carmarthen yesterday.