While we are all thinking about winterising ... (1 Viewer)

annadg

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Suffolk
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
I'm new to it
We have an Auto Trail Tracker. Does the team think that for travelling in the UK only over the winter (i.e. not Scandinavia or the Alps !) do we need to put heaters in the fresh and waste water tanks ...

We wouldn't be going away if the forecast was very very cold, in which case we would drain Badger down.

But would we need to drain the heater as well each time, or if we just kept a small amount of heat going inside would that be OK for the heater ?

It's all very confusing to a newbie :)

anna

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Hi Anna, if water freezes in your motorhomes system it can cause you problems, it might burst pipes (normally at joins) so when you next fill up and turn the pump on you will be pumping it inside your van:Eeek: Ice can break taps and split water filters, but the most expensive damage is probably your water heater, if that freezes when full of water it might prove to be very expensive.

So, when you are expecting a freeze make sure you have drained your system down or you keep some heat/hot water on. :thumb:

olddoug

Free Member
Dec 2, 2011
Canterbury
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
hi ann,
Always drain the lot, a good idea is to blow down the shower tube with taps open.

olddoug

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

BobT

Free Member
Jun 15, 2010
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
winterising

Hi Anna,
Over the winter I hook up the van to 220 volt, drain the system as well as I can (it is virtually impossible to drain it completely) and I then put 3 x 220volt 40w tubular heaters along the length of the van. I have never had any problems using this method. You should remember, however, to disconnect the leisure battery charger or it will be continually charged, which is not good for the battery.
Bob

bobh

Free Member
Jun 18, 2011