Mirror Guards - to buy or not to buy ? (1 Viewer)

annadg

Free Member
Aug 28, 2012
Suffolk
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
I'm new to it
They are quite expensive, but are they worth it ? Not that we actually INTEND to drive into things but ... will they protect the mirrors if we do (a hedge for instance when having to get over a bit ?

Anyone have views ?
anna

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
most trucks make them from a piece of stailess or thick aliminium . might be worth a thought .

Upvote 0

Welsh girl

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 7, 2009
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
Since 2004
We bought them and yes they are expensive but they have saved our mirrors a few times having to drive close to hedges to avoid white van man, have hit a few really thick branches (not me,Tez) and definitely would have broken them so saved around £300 each mirror.
Plus the inconvenience of sourcing them and fitting them.
Plus the danger of driving without a mirror should one get broken.
They fit snugly onto the mirror with really strong double sided adhesive pads.
Dare say they could be taken off but it would be a hard job and might damage them in the process but going to try when we change our van to put on the the new one.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Oct 2, 2011
Scotland
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2011
Well it's mirror related. My Peugeot Boxer mirrors give me great visibility down the sides . Sometimes as you know we need to move quite close to bushes etc as some other vehicles pay more road tax than us and are therefore entitled to more of the road. The one thing I can't see is the few inches my awning sticks out. Is the best thing to rectify this a blindspot mirror positioned so I can see it or is there something better?

Upvote 0

MikeandCarolyn

Free Member
Mar 18, 2008
Worle,North Somerset
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2009