Aug 28, 2012
lincs
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hello everyone ::bigsmile:
we are completely new to having a motorhome and we was wondering what do people leave in their van between trips?
Do you leave bedding in there? dry food? or do you pack it from scratch each time?

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Hi and welcome.

bedding is fine left in the van in summer but should be taken indoors in winter...along with soft furnishings (cushions etc).

dry food in sealed packets/containers should be OK...but don't leave any unsealed packets of dry food in the van or you will get mice.

we always leave tinned goods in the cupboards all year round

Upvote 0
Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
We always try to have as much as possible in the van so only need to pack fresh or frozen food. Bedding comes out in the winter unless its only a short gap between trips, and if a very long gap then so do clothes.
No open food left though as can attract mice.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
I never took anything out at all. Bedding and furnishings were all left in. Never a problem.

The only things I took out were perishables like milk and open packets. Everything else stayed exactly as is ready to go.

Depending on how long I was leaving it I would leave the fridge on as well. If I turned it off though I would empty it, wipe it out with a dilute bleach cloth and prop the door open.

Upvote 0

Chris

LIFE MEMBER
May 5, 2010
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
10 years
I didn't even think of mice! :Eeek: I have a lot to learn!! lol

We had mice only last month. Caught 6 in traps and took any remaining on a 3 week jaunt.::bigsmile:

What they appear to have been attracted to was my daughters hot water bottle which is a type of cuddly toy you put in the microwave. Apparently they are full of wheat.