Navfree for android, anyone tried it in france (1 Viewer)

Scooby1973

Free Member
Aug 18, 2012
london
Funster No
MH
rollerteam
Exp
im a newbie
Its free app for android has maps for most of the world for free and works on gps so no data download, anyone used it around europe with a motorhome?

OP
OP
S

Scooby1973

Free Member
Aug 18, 2012
london
Funster No
MH
rollerteam
Exp
im a newbie
The biggest question is WHY ?

What's the catch, it looks a saleable product, why give it away ?
Its made up of shared maps from other people, it works fine in the uk, i just need to know how good it is in europe, i have heard it will get you to the street but not the house number.

Link Removed

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Its made up of shared maps from other people, it works fine in the ukLink Removed

Thanks for that, new one on me, thought the GNU concept isn't.

Checked a few rural bits round here and it's excellent mapping.

The link you posted hinted at a paid upgrade, now that I can understand.

I'll give it a try.

OP
OP
S

Scooby1973

Free Member
Aug 18, 2012
london
Funster No
MH
rollerteam
Exp
im a newbie
What I have noticed is it didn't like London to Paris for example. It uses map for UK and a different one for France so would have to map to dover then use France map when you arrive in calais.

OP
OP
S

Scooby1973

Free Member
Aug 18, 2012
london
Funster No
MH
rollerteam
Exp
im a newbie
I have tried it with data turned off and wifi off and it still work's .

OP
OP
S

Scooby1973

Free Member
Aug 18, 2012
london
Funster No
MH
rollerteam
Exp
im a newbie
Tried the navfree for a 100 mile journey in the uk yesterday, wifi and data turned off and found no problems at all. Works great, if you do make a wrong turn it is very quick to recalculate. Just need someone to try it out in europe. The navigation maps that come with your phone all need data this one doesnt.