Lynne mc

Free Member
Jun 14, 2012
lancashire
Funster No
MH
don`t own one yet
Exp
My husband and I have been talking about buying a motorhome. We are complete novices.We did caravaning while the children were young.they have now left home. We are trying to work out the benifits for a motorhome vs renting cottages.(especially with rising costs of fuel). We have a new addition to our family. ( a puppy).We have read lots of motorhome mags but are getting more confused. Can anybody help us please? Also would a 2lt deisel van be ok for going up hills etc?

Heyupluv

Free Member
Oct 7, 2008
France,
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
touring many years..42+
My husband and I have been talking about buying a motorhome. We are complete novices.We did caravaning while the children were young.they have now left home. We are trying to work out the benifits for a motorhome vs renting cottages.(especially with rising costs of fuel). We have a new addition to our family. ( a puppy).We have read lots of motorhome mags but are getting more confused. Can anybody help us please? Also would a 2lt deisel van be ok for going up hills etc?

Hi Lynne and Welcome to MHF.
For a funster to answer your question or questions a little more detail would help,
When you say Van, are you talking about a van as in a small van or a large van,
Or are you talking of a van conversion....
The weight of the van, how many people will be travelling in it.
Are you talking a modern Van or a older van....to any those questions I have just mentioned yes A 2lt Diesel engine would be ok, but a modern engine usually are far superior quicker,pulls better and normally more economical..
The older diesel may be a little slower a little less on the MPG but will still go up hills.

Now many people talk of there motorhome as a VAN..(just a figure of speech )
Then I would say depending on the size of motorhome..weight, Custom cab or "A" class,
e.g for the larger motorhome 6.8m ish Plus a bigger engine would be far better,