Sikaflex sealants and adhesives (1 Viewer)

kex66

Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Posted this on RVOC, thought it might be useful to Funsters as well:

OK, as promised I am back from my site training at Sika UK and have a vast amount of information regarding sealants and adhesives for the Caravan/ Motorhome and Train carriage building market.

Unfortunately, as I am as thick as pea soup and the technician helping me with my enquiry was a boffin in the extreme, I tended to nod my head in agreement far too often when I should have said "Was that actually English you've just spoken"Link Removed

However, I did remember some of it and wrote most of it down. The technician was also kind enough to give me his direct line number if I have any questions in the future.

If you already understand sealants and adhesives then stop reading now. This is realy for those, like me who know nothing:

Sika adhesives are designed to be used with no other fixation device needed. Correct preparation of the substrate is therefore vital. The correct procedure and products needed for caravan/ RV work:

Pre treatment - Activator 205

Primers - Steel/ Aluminium - Primer 210
Plastic - Primer 206 G + P
Painted Substrates - Primer 209N

Interior Sealant - Sikaflex 221
Exterior Sealant - Sikaflex 521UV
Structural Adhesive - Sikaflex 252

The pre-treatment and primer phase are vital.

Unfortunately, only loctite manufacture products compatible with rubber coated substrates (Roof coatings etc)

I hope this helps. If you need any further help then PM me and I will contact the Sika technicianLink Removed

aba

Free Member
Oct 27, 2009
yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
dec 2009
so if i understand what you wrote for sticking a sat dome to the painted aluminium roof of a motorhome you first need the activator 205, primer 209N then 252 oh and plastic primer 206 g+p for the bottom of the dome.

OP
OP
K

kex66

Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH