Free Member
Dec 19, 2011
horsham
Funster No
MH
a class
Exp
im a newbie
Hi, can anyone give me advice on the best generator to buy for motorhome. I am looking at an Einhell German AG BT-PG850/1Blue Stromerzeuger 720W but has not got facility for 12 volt. We are motorhome virgins and need advice. :cry:

aba

Free Member
Oct 27, 2009
yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
dec 2009
simple answer is don't get one without inverter technology and forget using the 12 volt out as the motorhomes mains onboard charger will charge the battery much faster.

Upvote 0

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Hi and welcome...

I think that if you type "generators! in the search bit of the site (under the Main Heading towards the left) then you will find many posts/threads containing information and opinions about generators...

It is an often discussed (and vital) topic...

I swear by Kipor generators but many others don't!

(Others swear at them and all generators for disturbing the peace...)

JJ :Cool:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

JeanLuc

Free Member
Nov 17, 2008
Warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B630 Star-Line
Exp
Since 2007
There is a lot of information on here about generators - I suggest you search the forums. I have never heard of the brand you are considering, but a quick search suggests they are at the budget end of the generator range. That raises three issues: noise level; whether 2-stroke or 4-stroke engine; and whether they are pure sine-wave generators (probably not at the prices I have seen).

I would suggest that a 2-stroke is not a great idea as they tend to be both noisy and smelly.