Free Member
Apr 16, 2012
Scotland
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
We've bought a motorhome which does not have a jack for the spareDo we need a particular type or would a normal hydraulic jack be ok?
I am thinking about buying a small hydraulic type rather than a scissor style

steveclecy

Free Member
Jun 10, 2009
Wirral
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since June 2009
When we bought our first MH (which included spare and jack) the seller told us never to change the wheel - leave it to the breakdown organisation.

May not be much help to your question.

Steve

Upvote 0

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
On an RV

We have all the wheel braces as standard.. but no Jack... so I have purchased 2 hydraulic types 1 x 4 tons and 1 x 8 tons.. as I only lift one corner and my RV is 5.5 tons I have plenty of spare capacity.

I also have a scissor jack but that is 1.5 tons. (use that use that under tow bar to steady the RV when parked up)..

But let a motoring organisation change the tyre if you can.

Word of warning.. I joined an organisation that changed the tyre for me.. 3 years membership who claim to change the tyre within 2 hours anywhere in the UK.. took 4 days.. waste of money.. and they knew it was an RV and you have to give them the tyre sizes when you join.. advertised in many magazines.

Bob

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I had a 2ton hydraulic scissor jack on our last euro van...specially designed for Alko chassis.

first time i needed it (on tour in Scotland) the damned thing didnt wiork, air lock in the cylinder :Doh:

i managed to lift the front wheel with the standard fiat scissor jack...just....it would never, ever lift the rear wheel..

never again, scary as hell.

now i don't carry a jack as i would need at least a 15ton jobby...just leave it to the breakdown guys.