Apr 10, 2012
Fareham
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
I'm a newbie
Folks,

I've decided Solar Panels are the way ahead for my motorhome.... but where do I start? I'm thinking an 80w panel and currently have a 75amp battery. It would be to power the water pump, lights and a 12v tv as well as charging mobile phones....

advice greatly appreciated......

Jen

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Folks,

I've decided Solar Panels are the way ahead for my motorhome.... but where do I start? I'm thinking an 80w panel and currently have a 75amp battery. It would be to power the water pump, lights and a 12v tv as well as charging mobile phones....

advice greatly appreciated......

Jen

Perfect.

As long as you have sun. Which depends a lot where you want that power.

OP
OP
J

jenelicam

Free Member
Apr 10, 2012
Fareham
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
I'm a newbie
Basically, it would be mostly Summer time and if totally honest, its just because i don't think i'll get to the camp site at Silverstone in time in July for an electric hook up so thought a little bit of solar panel would assist our weekend....

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
think you need to go to a bigger size

Basically, it would be mostly Summer time and if totally honest, its just because i don't think i'll get to the camp site at Silverstone in time in July for an electric hook up so thought a little bit of solar panel would assist our weekend....

I do not think 80 watts will give you a lot of power.. might be worth increasing your battery size or add a battery as 75 amps is not a lot of domestic power, especially when you should not deplete a battery more than 50% of it's available power...Solar is alright if you are in europe where you get a lot of sun.

Bob

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield