Free Member
Apr 7, 2012
Worcester
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
We're looking for our first motorohome. Because we are on a somewhat limited budget, we'll be looking for a C Class around 20 years old. All the advice we have so far (very gratefully received) keeps re-iterating the need to thoroughly check for damp. Is there a guide on how to do this?

Thanks

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
Most often the damp issues will be around the bottom corners of windows and rear corners. Make sure you lift the cusions check the lockers for musty/mushroomy smell, discoloured wood or decoration. Get a moisture tester, 2 prong affair off ebay
Link Removed

cheap as chips

take note if air freshener has been used, it might be to mask damp smell, smells like mushrooms or rotten potatoes.
ask when or if the exterior seals have ever been replaced and watch out for mastic around the trims indicating they have not been removed to reseal.
Check for soft spongy wood on walls and floor check inside all units any sign of new bits of wood on the floor or walls
Most vans of that age will have some discolouration around the bottom corner of windows due to condensation so be aware of that. check the fabrics for signs of mildew indicating a damp interior.underneath the cushions is the best place t look. There are some good vans out there of that age, mainly mercedes based and Hymers, Burstners etc. Good luck with your search. If your budget would stretch to £20K I do know of a fantastic buy before it goes on ebay.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
first thing is buy a damp meter.

can be bought for less than a tenner.

then follow the instructions and check as many places as possible especially around ANY openings...windows, roof vents, floor to wall/roof to wall joints etc.