introducing myself and a question.... (1 Viewer)

ellensj

Free Member
Nov 20, 2011
suffolk
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
since 1998
Hi all,

I'm Ellen and I've been a motor homer for around 15 years with a break in the middle when I thought foolishly that I could do with out! I'm afraid I like to camp in comfort and a tent just won't do! I love being outdoors with nothing more to worry about than what to have for dinner, where to explore next (and the cost of diesel...).

I get out and about with my son, Ruben, 9 and we've done the length and breadth of the country but still loads to explore. We do like festivals and tend to go with groups of friends but I'd like to do a lot more ordinary camping. Of course, this is always more fun with friendly like minded company so I thought I'd give you guys a look. I'm a teacher so I get a good chunk of time in which to get out. Am looking forward to hooking up with some of you soon.

Now, for my question. Do any of you have any experience hiring out your motor home through an agency or privately? I have actually considered selling my van recently as it's so costly to keep and I haven't used it massively in the last year as I moved house and that took a lot of my time. I've got some things booked up this summer but it strikes me that it will be sitting unused for a fair bit of time too. A friend suggested considering hiring it out and it seems like a possibility which could cover my running costs. I'd REALLY appreciate any feedback.

Thanks in anticipation,

Ellen SJ

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Do any of you have any experience hiring out your motor home through an agency or privately?
Ellen SJ

This comes up regularly and always ends up no No NO.

Insurance problems.
Damage problems.
Bad debt problems.

All problems and little joy it seems.

OP
OP
E

ellensj

Free Member
Nov 20, 2011
suffolk
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
since 1998