Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Getting a bit desparate so have posted this on a number of sites to see if anyone can help:

Fitted a 12v Alphaline XV31 battery as a temporary measure to replace the 2 x 6v workaholic batteries that were shot.

The on board generator will not start. In fact there does not seem to be any power to it at all now. Before, with the duff batteries the generator was showing a fault to indicate that the house batteries were run down. Now there is nothing lighting up at all with the new battery fitted.

Do I have to reset anything or could it be a fuse blown when I reconnected the new battery? Or could it be the battery itself going from 2 x 6v to 1 x 12v.

Thanks in advance

madbluemad

Banned
Jan 26, 2008
spain
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
since 1980
Check you rv petrol levels. Your on board genny will not start unless you have at the very least a quarter of a tank full.

Check out the oil level in your genny, it will not start if the oil is very low.

Jim
:Smile:

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Have you checked with a meter or lamp that 12v is getting to the starter motor?

Peter

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
K

kex66

Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
thanks Jim,

all levels are good. Normally the genny start button will flash when pressed but now nothing. No sound or any indication that anything is happening at all. The only thing that happened when I reconnected the battery that may be related was the A/C unit started bleeping:whatthe:

OP
OP
K

kex66

Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Can I suggest you post this on www.rvoc.co.uk our sister site dedicated to RV s :thumb:

Already done that Larry but no replies (Bingo_66). I wasn't able to use the same user name on here for some reason.