Generator questions from a complete novice (1 Viewer)

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
As the header says I basically know next to nowt about generators other than you stick petrol in them, start them and you get 230v & 12v output.

Seeing the various threads over the past few days got me thinking about what are the real differences between the three oft-mentioned makes of Honda, Kipor and Clarke?

So, looking on the web I put together the attached comparison table and it seems to me that the only significant differences between the three models are "the cheaper the noisier" and that the Honda has a much longer warranty.

This is a serious enquiry, seeking knowledge and certainly not wanting to start any wars but, leaving aside any personal preferences/prejudices which anyone might have, are there technically and practically any advantages in paying the higher prices for the more expensive models?

Attachments

• generators.doc
    17 KB · Views: 50

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+
errr i for one dont think so as long as its inverter technology (sine wave) and weight.
I had a honda and 2 probs with it were, it quickly waxed up for some reason if fuel was left in it , and it weighed a ton
I now have a cheapie which is a little bit more vocal but in the last three years has never waxed up on me and its lighter so i can at least lift it in and out of its storage spot (couldnt do that with the honda), and i mean a cheapie its a Pro-user from Makro but has been reliable and performed when needed - and i imagine that if i added a little exhaust extension it would make it as quiet as a honda

Feb 27, 2011
UK
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2005
My first one was a Honda EU2.0 2Kw. I had money to burn back in those days and got the best of everything.

I now have the cheapest. A Clarke 1Kw Digi jobby.