Free Member
Feb 8, 2012
WEST MIDLANDS
Funster No
MH
COACH BUILT
Exp
I AM A NEWBIE
I have just bought my first motorhome, there is a inverter fitted and I would like to know how to use this.My motorhome is a ace milano 15 2002 model,it has a switch which says hook up top position, inverter in bottom position, the middle posion not sure about yet.
The inverter itself as ON and OFF buttons as well as a socket outlet, could someone give me advice on how to use it , and when its on or off

cheers:thumb:

stcyr

Free Member
Apr 11, 2011
Normandie
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
On & off, since 1966 - fulltime since 2005
Hallo HW, and :welcome:

Switch it to 'hook-up' when on ehu (electric hook-up) - run your mains equipment using your mains sockets.

Switch it to 'inverter' when off ehu - run your mains equipment off the inverter socket. Check it's power first to ensure you don't overload it. You can switch the inverter itself off when you're not using it as they use a small amount of power on standby.

Centre position - not sure, presumably 'both off'.

:thumb:

Upvote 0

Mikemoss

Free Member
Aug 14, 2007
Corsham, Wilts
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
The only thing I'd add to stcy's response is to be aware that the inverter draws 12v current from your battery (the one feeding the living part, not the one that starts the engine) and converts it into 240v.

If you use the inverter to run too many mains items, you'll soon end up with a dead 12v battery. We have a small plug-in inverter and it's fine for charging mobile phones etc, but I wouldn't attempt to use it for any serious stuff.

Good luck, not only with this, but everything else as you get to enjoy motorhoming more and more.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

slobadoberbob

Free Member
Jun 1, 2009
Kent, garden of England
Funster No
MH
Winnebago 23' something
Exp
25 years & counting
you need to be aware of the watts