C1 licence looking to rent an American RV for first time to France (1 Viewer)

eeyore125

Free Member
Jan 19, 2012
england
Funster No
MH
a class
Exp
i am a newbie
Hi I am enquiring about rental for an American RV for the first time. Licence holder of a C1 certificate, had it for 32 years. Want to tour France at the end of July for a week. Am a complete novice so will welcome every bit of advice and information given.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Hi and welcome to the fun.....

sorry, but I doubt, very much, you will find an American RV rental company either here or on mainland Europe.

you should be able to rent a european van though.

Forestboy

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 31, 2007
Forest of Dean
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B694 tag
Exp
Forget renting an RV even if you can which I doubt, they're too big and too expensive to run. Rent a nice European instead, smaller size allows you to go anywhere the fancy takes you, campsites wont turn you away and it'll cost a fraction of the price to run.

Dont get me wrong I'm not one of the anti RV brigade, I've owned 3 and done over a 100'000 miles in Rvs but they're just not a realistic option anymore.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
E

eeyore125

Free Member
Jan 19, 2012
england
Funster No
MH
a class
Exp
i am a newbie
Space

Would a European Van have alot of space. As that is the thing that is needed. There is a company that does it but the man is very rude and I wouldnt give him a penny, in all honesty.

Forestboy

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 31, 2007
Forest of Dean
Funster No
MH
A Class Hymer B694 tag
Exp
My 25ft European van has a 1 tonne payload and more storage space than any of my RVs had I even carry a 650 m/bike on board, no trailer no bike rack. Most RVs are down graded for the Uk and have very small payload. Have a good look around before you commit.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005