Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi guy's

I need some advice on how to handle this one. I brought a Swift Sundance 630g a little over a week ago. We did a test run over the weekend which was fine, wet and windy but good fun. I have posted another thread reference some issues for the dealer but I did a bit of investigation while cleaning today and found some water damage.

It appears that someone has installed a new electric step at some point, removed some lino near the foot of the habitation door, installed 4no coach bolts through the floor, which at some point was upgraded with a supporting bar at the hinge end of the door. The lino was then bodged back and a mat screwed over everything to make it look neat.

It appears that water has been leaking in through the door somewhere (bottom joints have no mastic) and settled on the plywood floor, which is now a little worse for wear.

I would imagine that if the Lino was intact the wood underneath would remain dry, when I washed the motorhome today I noticed more water coming through the door so I checked the locking mech which had a rattle in it, tightend up the door catch inside and the door lock lovely, maybe is was the leak cause.

What would you guys do?

I have a 3 month warranty, should the dealer sort this, and what would you expect from the dealer?

I will be keeping the motorhome with the dealer anyway, and they have a workshop on site.

Any advice would be great. The motorhome is a 2003 model, in pret good nick, just annoys me that someone has bodged the step install!

Apr 23, 2008
chelmsford Essex
Funster No
MH
Swift BESSACAR 597
Exp
Bessacar Damp Patch

Sorry to hear about that unfortunately there will always be someone trying to do a bodge and cover up and its not always possible to spot until after you,ve bought!