Free Member
Dec 30, 2011
northamptonshire
Funster No
MH
just looking at rvs
Exp
i am a newbie
Hi, like to ask out there if anyone can give us any feedback on purchasing an rv diesel motorhome. We are firm on some criteria being that we want leather seats and sofas, diesel, as big as space as possible for 2 boys. Price range not sure wld like side out version with air con and all the toys. Can anyone tell us how thirsty they are on fuel, insurance costs, storage etc. We plan to travel around europe as well as uk. Many thanks

Jules n Jon newbies

old-mo

Funster
Extra Special
LIFE MEMBER
Oct 16, 2008
Weymouth. Dorset...
Funster No
MH
Nearly aint got one.
Exp
Caravan & motorhome 45 + yrs
Hi Jules and a warm welcome...

You may be better joining our sister site RVOC, who`s members are mainly American RV Owners...

Same as this site/club a great bunch of people who will have all the answers for a potential RV owner..

Here = www.rvoc.co.uk :thumb:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
hi Jules and Jon and welcome.

RV, diesel, slideout......i can only assume you mean an american RV.

most common diesel engine will be a 6.5ltr, probably a Cummins.

depending on size and weight of the RV i would say, at best, you will get around 14mpg

insurance will depend on your personal circumstances but expect around £500/£600 comprehensive cover with unlimited windscreen breakage cover.
a one piece A class screen can cost upwards of £5000 to replace.

i would seriously consider full breakdown cover as well.

you will need to also consider your driving licence.
over 3500kg to 7500kg you will need a C1 licence.
over 7500kg you need a C class...old HGV type
if you took your test before jan 1997 you should already have C1(+E trailer) category.

have a look over on our sister site RVOC, which is dedicated to american RV's

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+